top of page

Birds of Prey

Hawks and Osprey

Birds of Prey are a species that primarily hunt and feed on other animals.  They have keen eyesight, powerful, hook-tipped beaks for tearing flesh and strong feet with sharp talons for grasping and killing prey.  Hawks are birds of prey that hunt and eat birds and small mammals, snakes, and frogs.  There are seventeen species of hawks in North America.  Osprey are the sole members of the family Pandionidae and technically are not members of the hawk family, even though they are often referred to as "fish hawks" or "sea hawks."  I am including them here for simplicity sake. 

Click on Image for More Information
bottom of page